Discovering the obvious (en español al final)

“Paint your town and you will paint the world”, as L. Tolstoi said, is a sentence that describes pretty well the method of the Dutch photographer Peter de Krom whose ability to find humans, and sometimes animals, during ambiguous moments results in photos of ordinary moments that look extraordinary. I like the freshness and sense of humor of the best of his work so I contacted him and he kindly agreed to do this interview (Note: I recommend to enlarge the photos):

Untitled

-Please, can you present yourself, what is your occupation? Where you live? Do you have a formal education or did you just start to take pictures? How did you come to get hooked on photography and with street photography?
-I live and work in the small whimsical town of Hoek van Holland, the Netherlands. Here I create my own photographic series that tell small stories about the Dutch culture. A common theme in my work is peculiar human behavior, which I like to exploit with a biological and anthropological interest. My work can seem distant, but I like to explore my subjects as if I’m discovering something completely new, even though it’s very common. This way my subjects hopefully tell most of the story themselves and not just me or the framing.
I work as a photographer for the Dutch newspaper ‘NRC Next’ and ‘NRC Handelsblad’. I started there as an intern while I was studying documentary photography at the St. Joost academy for fine arts. After my graduation in 2010 I got the opportunity to keep working for both newspapers on a regular basis. Besides this I work for some other (commercial) clients as well.
Just like most people I got into photography by accident. I bought a camera out of boredom once and eventually discovered a way to tell stories. First you photograph your own dog and some architecture from all angles, but slowly I realized that I was also able to document a certain way of looking to the society around me. Because I wanted to learn more about documentary photography I went to Art School. There I found out that I could actually turn my way of thinking into images.

Untitled

Untitled

-Why do you make street photography? What motivates you?
-I don’t consider myself a street photographer. I just depend on the streets to come up with subjects I want to explore further. Street Photography is a way for me to make sketches for bigger works. I see it as a tool, not as a goal on itself. Almost all the work from my ‘Sketchbook’ (on Flickr) has been shot in Hoek van Holland, my hometown, where I live just to make work. When I’m visiting the city I don’t really think about bringing my camera. So in the essence I guess I’m not like most street photographers you see with camera’s around there neck most of the time.

Untitled

Untitled

-How do you deal with your job time?
-I work on assignments about three days a week. I use the other days to make my own work, which I then publish and also generates some income.
-I see you work on series like documental essays. Why? Do you work on several projects at the same time? Are they obsessions or are they chosen by chance?
-The series I make sometimes come by chance, but mostly it’s indeed (also) a obsession. It gives you the opportunity to work with narratives and tell stories in exciting ways. It pushes you to think about your work from the perspective of the viewer, wondering how they go from image to image and what this does to their imagination.
I’m currently working on four projects at the same time. Some of them take years, others just a few months. I’m always working on something. Sometimes together with a writer.
With my series I’m currently discovering my hometown all over again. ‘Hoek van Holland’ (Hook of Holland) is a strange place where almost everything that’s typical Dutch is being pushed into a small corner. It’s a wonderful cocktail of typical Dutch ingredients. With the use of series I can tell a different story about this town (and the entire country) every time.

Untitled

Untitled

-In most of your photos there is a lot of space, why do you do this? Is it a technical matter? For example you use a fixed wide angle lens and have no time to go close.
-Indeed there is a lot of space in my photo’s, but I just see it as relevant context. I allow room for other elements that can matter and give a sense of neutrality. It also brings some peace and serenity that makes you less present as a photographer. I believe viewers feel more like an audience this way, like if they are seeing this themselves. This is why I love taking photographs with the 35mm prime lens. It’s almost equivalent to the human eye.
-Do you have favorites places or moments to find potential images?
-Almost every weekend I take my moped to drive to different places in my town. I visit the beach, the pier, the boulevard and some other crowded places to take some shots. During the weekdays I go on foot, walking around in the normal residential areas, hoping to find everyday situations.

Untitled

Untitled

-When you miss a shot, how you deal with it?
-I try to forget them as soon as possible. Thanks for bringing them up :)
-What kind of equipment you use? What is inside of your usual bag? (not only photographic things). I mean, maybe you hear music or have some amulet.
-I use a 5D Mark III and the 35mm L USM or 24-70mm L II USM lens. In some cases there’s also a 580EXII flash on top. Other stuff I take a long is a notebook, business cards and a good mood. I never go out cranky, because I have noticed photography just makes it worse.
-How is your process of editing?
-There’s not much editing in my images. I just load them in Adobe Lightroom and do some basic adjustments. I don’t really like it when photographers overuse the options as a ‘effect’ instead as a instrument. I even get bored with black and white pretty fast too, unless it’s really necessary for the image. As soon as a image is black and white I feel tricked and looking at a effect instead of a real life situation.
-And how is your process of editing but in the sense of picking the best photos?
Choosing photos for series is the most difficult thing. You kill some darlings along the way every time. What helps for me is using flickr as a sketchbook . The strange thing is that I look at my pictures differently as soon as they are ‘online‘. Somehow the picture get’s more real. It’s ‘out there’ for others to see, making you more critical. It’s something psychological that works for me.
Working to the final selection of a series I always ask friends, my intern or students from art school for help. Sometimes I also ask my mom, because she has the sober view on photographs that you’re losing in time as a photographer.
It’s also a good thing to let you’re images rest for a while. Like months, giving yourself the opportunity to forget about the moment you took the photo. Otherwise emotions/feelings from that moment can get in the way of being objective to your own shots.
-Do you make prints? When?
-I mostly make prints for exhibitions. But when I’m working on a big series with a lot of material to choose from I make small prints and look for a big room to do some editing with others.

Untitled

Untitled
-What you consider are the main difficulties to do the kind of photography you do?
-What makes it difficult right now is the solitude. Because I just live in Hoek van Holland for the photography I miss out on a lot of stuff friends are doing in the cities. I’m always right in the middle of my photography with just a few other distractions.
Money and enough assignments is the other thing. I have to be very productive to be noticed enough and keep selling my work. In these days, with so many talented photographers, you are forgotten by a mouse click.
-I read that you joined a collective. Why? What are your common objectives?
-The collective ECHIE was started by Caspar Claassen. We joined forces together with Regina van der Kloet and Peter Gerritsen because we had a feeling that our kind of photography was not recognized by the big public in the Netherlands, even though Street Photography has never been so popular.
-Why do you think it is important get more recognition for this kinds of photos, what are they showing that is not in the usual world of fine art photos?
-I wouldn’t call our photos Fine Art, but we notice that by combining our strengths, our images can have a much stronger expression, telling stories about our shared surroundings. The great amount of street photography, especially in the Netherlands from amateurs, sometimes dominates over the quality that is out there. Working as a collective gives you the opportunity to rise above this.

Untitled


Descubriendo lo obvio

“Pinta tu aldea y pintarás el mundo”, como León Tolstoi dijo, es una frase que describe bastante bien el método del fotógrafo holandés Peter de Krom cuya habilidad para encontrar humanos, y a veces animales, durante momentos ambiguos resulta en fotos de momentos ordinarios que se ven como extraordinarios. Me gusta la frescura y el sentido de humor de lo mejor de su trabajo así es que lo contacté y él accedió amablemente a esta entrevista (Nota: recomiendo ampliar las fotos):
-Por favor, podrías presentarte, cuál es tu ocupación, dónde vivís, tuviste una educación formal o sólo empezaste a hacer fotos? Cómo te enganchaste con la fotografía y en particular con la fotografía callejera?
-Vivo y trabajo en un pequeño y caprichoso pueblo de Hoek van Holland, Holanda. Aquí creo mis series fotográficas que cuentan pequeñas historias sobre la cultura holandesa. Un tema común en mi trabajo es la conducta humana, la cual me gusta explotar con intereses biológicos y antropológicos. Mi trabajo puede parecer distante pero me gusta explorar mis sujetos como si estuviera descubriendo algo completamente nuevo, aunque sea algo muy común. De esta forma espero que mis sujetos cuenten la historia por ellos mismos y no por mí o mi encuadre.
Trabajo como fotógrafo para el diario holandés NRC Next y NRC Handelsblad. Empecé allí como interno mientras estaba estudiando fotografía documental en la Academia de Bellas Artes St. Joost. Después de mi graduación en 2010 tuve la oportunidad de seguir trabajando para ambos periódicos. Aparte de esto trabajo para otros clientes comerciales también.
Como a mucha gente me metí en la fotografía por accidente. Compré una cámara para salir del aburrimiento y eventualmente descubrí una forma de contar historias. Primero hacés fotos de tu perro y algo de arquitectura desde algunos ángulos pero lentamente me di cuenta de que también podía documentar cierta forma de mirar la sociedad que me rodea. Como quise aprender mas sobre fotografía documental fui a la escuela de arte. Allí encontré que podía cambiar mi modo pensar sobre las imágenes.
-Por qué haces fotografía callejera, qué te motiva?
-No me considero un fotógrafo callejero. Es sólo que dependo de las calles para alcanzar a los sujetos que quiero explorar. La fotografía callejera es para mí una forma de tomar apuntes para trabajos más grandes. La veo como una herramienta, no un fin en sí mismo. Casi toto el trabajo de mi libro de notas (en Flickr) ha sido fotografiado en Hoek van Holland, mi ciudad natal, donde vivo para hacer mi trabajo. Cuando estoy visitando la ciudad realmente no pienso en llevar mi cámara. Así que en esencia supongo que no soy como la mayoría de los fotógrafos callejeros que ves con una cámara en su cuello la mayor parte del tiempo.
-Cómo te las arreglas con tu tiempo de trabajo?
-Trabajo en encargos alrededor de tres días a la semana. Uso los días restantes para mi propio trabajo los cuales publico luego y también generan algunos ingresos.
-Ví tu trabajo en series documentales. Por qué? Trabajás en varios proyectos al mismo tiempo? Son en base a obsesiones o los elegís de casualidad?
-Las series que hago a veces vienen por casualidad, pero la mayoría son sobre todo una obsesión. Te da la oportunidad de trabajar con narraciones y contar historias en formas excitantes. Te fuerza a pensar sobre tu trabajo desde la perspectiva del espectador, preguntándote como irán de una imagen a la otra y qué hace esto con su imaginación.
Estoy actualmente trabajando en cuatro proyectos al mismo tiempo. Algunos toman años, otros sólo unos pocos meses. Siempre estoy trabajando en algo. A veces junto a un escritor.
Con mis series estoy descubriendo nuevamente mi ciudad natal. Hoek van Holland (Gancho de Holanda) es un extraño lugar donde casi todo lo que es típicamente holandés es arrinconado. Es un maravilloso cocktail de típicos ingredientes holandeses. Con el uso de las series puedo contar una historia diferente sobre este pueblo (y el país entero) cada vez.
-En la mayoría de tus fotos hay un montón de espacio, por qué lo hacés? es una cuestión técnica? por ejemplo, usás un gran angular y no tenés tiempo de acercarte.
-De hecho hay mucho espacio en mis fotos pero yo sólo veo eso como contexto relevante. Dejo espacio para otros elementos que pueden importar y dar un sentido de neutralidad. Eso también genera algo de paz y serenidad que te hace menos presente como fotógrafo. Creo que los espectadores se sienten más como audiencia de esta forma, como si lo estuvieran viendo ellos mismos. Esa es la razón porque me encanta hacer fotos con un lente 35 mm fijo. Es casi equivalente al ojo humano.
-Tenés lugares o momentos favoritos para encontrar potenciales imágenes?
-Casi todos los fines de semana manejo mi ciclomotor a diferentes lugares del pueblo. Visito la playa, el muelle, el bulevar y algún otro multitudinario lugar para tirar algunas fotos. Durante los días de la semana voy a pie, camino alrededor de áreas residenciales normales esperando encontrar situaciones cotidianas.
-Cuándo perdés una foto, cuál es tu actitud?
-Trato de olvidar eso lo más rápido posible. Gracias por sacar a relucir el tema :)
-Qué tipo de equipo usás? Qué hay dentro de tu bolsa usualmente? (no sólo cosas fotográficas). Quiero decir, quizá escuchás música o tenés algún amuleto.
-Uso una 5D Mark III y un 35 mm L USM o un 24-70 mm L II USM. En algunos casos uso arriba de la cámara un flash 580EXII. Otras cosas que llevo es un libreta de notas, tarjetas de negocios y buen humor. Nunca salgo cuando estoy irritable porque me di cuenta que la fotografía sólo lo empeora.
-Cómo es tu proceso de edición?
-No edito mucho mis imágenes. Sólo las cargo en el Adobe Lightroom y hago algunos básicos ajustes. Realmente no me gusta cuando los fotógrafos exageran las opciones para obtener un efecto en lugar de usarlo como instrumento. Incluso me aburro con el blanco y negro bastante rápido también, a menos que sea realmente necesario para la imagen. Tan pronto como una imagen es en blanco y negro me siento engañado y veo un efecto en vez de una situación real.
-Y cómo es tu proceso de edición pero en el sentido de elegir tus mejores fotos?
-Elegir fotos para una serie es la cosa más difícil. Matas algunas fotos queridas cada vez que lo hacés. Lo que me ayuda es usar Flickr como una libreta de apuntes . Lo extraño es que miro mis fotos de otra forma apenas están online. De alguna forma las fotos se vuelven más reales. Están ahí afuera para que la vean otros, lo que te hace más crítico. Es algo psicológico que funciona para mí.
En el trabajo de la selección final siempre pregunto a mis amigos, mis aprendices o estudiantes de la escuela de arte en busca de ayuda. Algunas veces también le pregunto a mi madre porque tiene una mirada sobria que vos vas perdiendo en tu tiempo de fotógrafo.
Es algo útil también dejar tus imágenes descansar por un rato. Meses, dándote la oportunidad de olvidarte del momento en que tomaste la foto. De otra manera las emociones del momento se pueden meter en el camino de ser objetivo de tus propias fotos.
-Hacés copias? Cuándo?
-Mayormente para exhibiciones. Pero cuando estoy trabajando en una serie grande con un montón de material a elegir hago pequeñas copias y busco un cuarto grande donde editar con la ayuda de otros.
-Cuáles considerás son las principales dificultades para hacer el tipo de foto que hacés?
-Lo que lo hace difícil es la soledad. Como vivo en Hoek van Holland por la fotografía me pierdo un montón de cosas que mis amigos hacen en otras ciudades. Siempre estoy en el medio de mi fotografía con sólo unas pocas distracciones.
El dinero y tener los suficientes pedidos es otra cosa. Tengo que ser muy productivo para ser tenido en cuenta y mantener en venta mi trabajo. En estos días, con tantos talentosos fotógrafos, sos olvidado con un click del ratón.
-Leí que te uniste a un colectivo. Por qué? Cuáles son sus objetivos comunes?
-El colectivo ECHIE fue iniciado por Caspar Claassen. Unimos fuerzas con Regina van der Kloet and Peter Gerritsen porque sentimos que nuestra clase de fotografía no es reconocida por el gran público en Holanda, aún cuando la fotografía callejera nunca ha sido tan popular.
-Por qué pensás que es importante tener más reconocimiento por esta clase de fotos, que están mostrando que no está en el mundo de la fotografía de arte?
-No llamaría fotos de arte a las nuestras, pero nos dimos cuenta que combinando nuestros esfuerzos nuestras imágenes pueden tener una expresión más fuerte, compartir historias sobre los alrededores que compartimos. La gran cantidad de fotografía callejera, especialmente en Holanda de parte de amateurs, algunas veces domina la calidad que hay ahí afuera. Trabajando como un colectivo nos da la oportunidad de elevarnos sobre eso.

~ by hernanzenteno on February 20, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

